Dreams Do Come True in Mykonos, Greece

cropped-mykonos.jpg

Mykonos, Greece

September 18 – 20, 2013

Is it possible to fall in love in less than 24 hours? I did. However, I fell in love with Mykonos Island – not a boy (although I did meet one). By the time I had arrived in Mykonos, I had been traveling for a week, yet the feeling of “being on vacation” didn’t hit me until I was relaxing in my chic day bed, overlooking Mykonos town from my five star hotel, Vencia Boutique Hotel (http://bit.ly/GTrIsO). I loved this hotel because it was the perfect combination of luxury and hospitality. Also, the views of Mykonos town with its bright, shiny, white Cycladic buildings were breathtaking. The staff was friendly and the hotel itself wasn’t overly grand, it was simple and elegant – my perfect paradise.

DSCN1464

Mykonos Vencia View

I started each day enjoying breakfast on the outdoor patio, then I made my way downstairs to the pool deck. I sipped my morning cup of coffee while in the comfort of a private day bed, read, and journaled. I remember watching the white drapes of the daybed catch the wind as a sense of calmness took over me – finally, everything in my life seemed at peace. The daily stress of my life back home was non-existent. Work didn’t matter – I was thousands of miles away. My broken heart from past relationships had been mended. Although I was by myself, I was happy – I was truly happy. I thought about how lucky I was to be there, how far I had come in my professional career to even afford to visit Greece and stay at such an amazing place. I even had the opportunity to enjoy an amazing dinner at one of Mykonos’s top restaurants, Karavaki (http://4sq.com/16jKlMP) which is known for its view of the sunset over the deep blue sea.

I remember sitting on the edge of the infinity pool, watching my first sunset in Greece (I didn’t have a chance to in Paros). At that moment, it hit me: Dreams Do Come True. I had made My Dream become My Reality. 

Moment of Reflection - thinking about how far I have come.

Moment of Reflection – thinking about how far I have come.

Infinity Pool Love

Infinity Pool Love

My Dream. My Life. My World.

I felt on Top of the World

Mykonos was by far my favorite Greek island. I loved the culture – the people, the liveliness of the city, the old woman painting the street, people enjoying each other’s company at a cafe at 1am, the woman singing opera at a local restaurant in the evening, and even younger tourists galavanting through the streets at 2am. Mykonos was just filled with so much energy, life, and beauty.

I was blessed to be able to share my Mykonos adventures with my friend Tina, the same one who met me in Istanbul. The first day, we were on a mission to make it to the Windmills and to Little Venice. On our way, we stopped at a bar along the water called Galleraki (http://4sq.com/172UMYX) for a glass of wine only to find out that we were already in Little Venice! That’s where we met Alexandros. He was great and he kindly showed us around town that night. He was also very traditional in character – values, allegiance to Greece, family – although, I could tell he had his fair share of young bad boy days like any other 30 year old male. He said one thing that resonated with me,

Don’t go faster than other people on the road. You don’t need to go faster than them; those people will die sooner. Go slow and you will live longer.

In America, its a rat race to the top. We work long hours, lose sleep in order to make a deadline, and sometimes we don’t sleep at all. We speed down our paved roads, get annoyed if someone is driving the speed limit, and drive ourselves insane if life isn’t moving fast enough.  We’re always asking “what’s next?” or wondering “what if” versus enjoying the present. We get so caught up in our day-to-day lives, we forget to STOP. We forget to BREATHE. We forget to REFLECT.

I know I forget these things all the time. I love the adrenaline rush I get from working, but it is draining and sometimes I find myself wanting to book a last minute travel escape which I have definitely done before. One of the things my first boyfriend taught me was that balance is key. Since we parted ways, I’ve worked to find balance in my life and what I’ve learned is that you don’t “find a balance” – you continuously work at keeping a constant balance.

Painting the Streets of Mykonos

Painting the Streets of Mykonos

A walk through town

A walk through town

DSCN1403*

DSCN1406*

~ A Day Trip to the Beach ~

Back to Mykonos, we rented an ATV and drove to Paradise Beach & Super Paradise Beach – such unique names, right? Both are known to be party beaches, but we went in the early afternoon and towards the end of the season, so it wasn’t packed. I liked Super Paradise better – it was much more scenic. Fair warning about SP, you have to go down a very steep hill to get there… meaning you need to climb back up too. The ATV helped but if its not powerful enough and there’s two of you, one of you better be prepared to walk!

The beaches are a little far to get to by ATV, but it’s definitely worth the trip. Riding on an ATV in Mykonos was probably one of the best experiences I had in Greece. It gave me a sense of freedom especially as a traveler without a car. Having to take taxis, planes, and boats everywhere may sometimes feel confining. Being able to get behind the “wheel” with the fresh air blowing in my face was liberating. I felt in control which was fitting for my vacation theme. Yes – I usually have a theme for every vacation or at least a topic to reflect on.

My time in Mykonos was my moment to STOP. BREATHE. & REFLECT. I was responsible for making my dreams come true because I am in control of my life.

Mykonos ATV

DSCN1482*

Notes & Quick Links

Transportation: I have one piece of advice. Rent an ATV. Its the best way to see the beaches. However, if you’re planning on going to Paradise/Super Paradise Beach in the evening/early morning, it may be best to take the bus or cab.

Ferry: There are two ferry ports, the Old Port and the New Port. Be sure to check which one you are arriving at if you are arranging a car service to pick you up. Also, the ferry schedules can change, so it may be best to even just take a cab once you arrive.

1. Mykonos: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mykonos

2. Vencia Boutique Hotel: http://bit.ly/GTrIsO or http://www.vencia.gr/

3. Beaches of Mykonos: http://www.greeka.com/cyclades/mykonos/mykonos-beaches.htm

4: Little Venice: http://www.tripadvisor.com/Attraction_Review-g662620-d519760-Reviews-Little_Venice-Mykonos_Town_Mykonos_Cyclades.html

5. Mykonos Windmills: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mykonos_windmills

Leave a Reply

