Living the SoCal Life: A Weekend in La Jolla

Living the SoCal Life

A year and nine months ago, I moved back to Southern California from New York City. Why? I missed The SoCal Life. The beaches, my bike rides, hiking, the mountains, snowboarding, wakeboarding – all of this in sunny, 70-degreee weather. There are two things I love about SoCal – people are active year-round and there are countless beaches stretching from San Diego up to Santa Barbara. I live in Santa Monica/Los Angeles which is right in the middle, 2 hours north and 2 hours south, so its the perfect location to live the SoCal Life. 

Sunset View from Hotel La Jolla

Sunset View from Hotel La Jolla

La Jolla, CA

November, 16, 2013

Just north of San Diego is La Jolla – so close, it’s only an hour and a half drive from Los Angeles. On the way down, we stopped at Leoness Cellars, a winery in Temecula Wine Country. With over 35 wineries to choose from, Temecula Valley is actually a great and convenient place to go wine tasting for those who live in or are visiting Southern California.

We stayed at Hotel La Jolla and as a Kimpton Inner Circle member, my favorite hotel loyalty program, I received VIP treatment upon arrival. With an amazing ocean view, I was quite impressed by the room (and the shower). As I watched the sunset from the room with the red and purple colors in the sky, the green lush trees below, and blue ocean just beyond the palm trees, I felt like I was in Hawaii.

Another thing I love about Kimpton hotels is their complimentary wine happy hour – this was the first time I was able to enjoy it as I usually don’t make it back from the office in time when I travel for work. Dinner at Cusp which was delicious and afterwards we stumbled upon greatness at the Martin Lawrence Art Gallery while taking a stroll in town.

The gallery housed art from Picasso to Chagall – some worth hundreds of thousands to millions! While I have seen famous artwork in museums, I definitely didn’t expect to see such grand art in a small gallery in La Jolla. I was also inspired to travel again. Although I had already been to most of the places in the paintings like Prague and France (which was definitely a nice feeling), there were places that I haven’t traveled to that I would love to see in person!

The following morning we stopped by the La Jolla Cove to see the seals and then had brunch at Torrey Pines. Another moment of inspiration – I used to golf and would LOVE to play one of the courses there! Torrey Pines is picture perfect. Everything is perfectly landscaped and it is right next to the beach. Oh, and Tiger Woods has played there!

My weekend in La Jolla, CA was quick, but it was the perfect SoCal staycation.

Leonesse Cellars in Temecula Wine Country

Leonesse Cellars in Temecula Wine Country

Hotel La Jolla

Hotel La Jolla

Sunset View from Hotel La Jolla

Sunset View from Hotel La Jolla

Martin Lawrence Art Gallery

Martin Lawrence Art Gallery

Martin Lawrence Art Gallery

Martin Lawrence Art Gallery

Chagall at Martin Lawrence Art Gallery

Chagall at Martin Lawrence Art Gallery

Working to Travel at Hotel La Jolla

Working to Travel at Hotel La Jolla

La Jolla Cove

La Jolla Cove

La Jolla Cove

La Jolla Cove

La Jolla Cove

La Jolla Cove

Torrey Pines Golf Course

Torrey Pines Golf Course

3 responses to “Living the SoCal Life: A Weekend in La Jolla

  1. Pingback: Living the SoCal Life: A Warm Christmas in LA | Working to Travel·

Leave a Reply

