Adventure Awaits: A Month in Asia

Everyone says to enjoy the single life, so why not quit your job and travel? Ha! While I am very grateful for the job I have had for the last four years, I decided to take a break from the demands of a high-stress environment to do exactly that. I don’t know where I’ll end up, but I’m excited to find out! Let the adventure begin! First stop, ASIA!!!

Map of Asia
2016, this is the year when I throw what is expected of me out the window, the year I decide not to follow the beaten path of climbing the corporate ladder, the year I follow my heart instead of what my mind thinks is logically right.

During the last few months, I have continuously found myself at a fork in the road: Do I continue to work, not sleep, travel from coast to coast week after week not being able to put roots in one city? Do I continue to put my career above building relationships? Do I continue to follow this extraordinary path I have built for myself, a career that is leading me to become a VP before 30 which has been one of my goals? OR, Do I walk away? Do I allow myself time to take a break for my health and to really think about my next steps? Do I follow my personal goal of taking a mini-retirement to travel and maybe live in Italy for a month before I am 30? Do I take a risk by following the unknown path? Do I let go and trust in fate?

For almost a decade now I have been working non-stop with no breaks in between jobs. Yes, the last three years I have been fortunate enough to vacation around the world a few weeks out of the year, but it didn’t come without a price – a lot of late nights in the office, sacrificing my personal life and relationships for work, and dealing with the high-stress levels associated with deadline after deadline. While I am grateful for my experiences, what I have learned throughout my career thus far, the opportunities I have had to grow and develop into a strong leader, and for my job which has allowed me to see the world, this is the year I am ‘throwing it all away.’ Ok, maybe I’m just putting it on ‘hold,’ but this is the year I finally decided to put my personal interests and health first.

Today, I am setting out on an unknown path and I have no idea where it will lead. Although nerve-racking, it is also exciting :). Not knowing where I will be 6 months from now really feels like anything can happen, like the world is truly my oyster. Don’t get me wrong, it’s freaking scary – a part of me even thought about going back to work but I have to do this. Who knows when this opportunity will come again?!

Without a map, without a path to follow, life can take me anywhere! One thing I do know for sure is that I am heading to Asia for the first time in 16 years! Here’s where I’m headed for the next month and a half!

Bangkok + Islands, Thailand
From temples to canal markets to street food and tuk tuks to beautiful crystal clear waters on the islands, I can’t wait to explore a world I have never seen.

image

image

Ho Chi Minh, Vietnam
Formerly but still known as Saigon, I’m looking forward learning more about its history and culture.

image

Siem Reap, Cambodia
The main thing I would like to see here are the ancient temples in Angkor, a UNESCO World Heritage Site.

image

Hoi An & Hue, Vietnam
Another UNESCO World Heritage site is Hoi An as it is an exceptionally well preserved example of a Southeast Asian trading port dating back to the 15th century.

image

Bali, Indonesia
Bali has been on my list long before Eat, Pray, Love came out but I’m excited to relax, reflect, and pray on my journey.

image

Singapore
My last stop is where it all began, where my desire to travel and see the world began – Singapore.

image

“Adventure Awaits” – 2016

4 responses to “Adventure Awaits: A Month in Asia

  1. Pingback: Why I Quit My Job and Traveled the World | Working to Travel·

Leave a Reply

