The Expat Life: The first 4 months

Singapore

Singapore
May 10, 2017

The first three months of life abroad has been quite the rollercoaster with the first six weeks feeling like a college frat party every weekend just with expats making a decent salary, spending hundreds on highly taxed booze, and on lavish private booze cruises. Don’t get me wrong, it has been quite a fun time especially because everyone I have met is extremely welcoming, super nice, and just good people.

However, it has not been all fun and games. It has also been tough between adjusting to living in a new country, dealing with cultural differences, trying to get settled, finding an apartment, and starting a completely new and super demanding job. I cried almost every night for a month and a half straight, broke down in tears to my mother, and debated going back home. My limits have definitely been tested further than I thought I would be able to overcome, but I did. There is light at the end of the tunnel and I’ve accepted that whatever happens is meant to happen for a reason. What I know right now is,

I am where I am supposed to be–and that’s enough.

Despite the struggles, I continue to stay positive and focus on the good things because in the grand scheme of things, my life is exactly what I want it to be. I have made every decision for myself and am willing to accept the outcome whether good or bad.

The good. Well, my parents came to visit recently so it was nice to have them around especially because they surprised me with my six year old nephew who also came to visit! I am fortunate enough to have a great support system of friends here who have been my saving grace through stressful times. And, lastly, I am finally starting to travel in the region! My first trip was in March to Tioman in Malaysia to get my dive certification. The second came under unfortunate family circumstances and, within a day, I bought and flew to Cebu in the Philippines for the weekend. The third was to Phuket, Thailand with my parents and nephew. And last weekend, I went to Hanoi and Halong Bay in Vietnam which was a bucket list trip for me and my first real 5-day vacation since I started work so I was super excited :).

I know that there is more good to come so I’m looking forward to the adventures, curveballs, and experiences ahead!
xoxo,
Katt

Leave a Reply

